Skip to content

My Take On…Teen Choice Awards 2011

August 8, 2011

There was a lot of great fashion last night at the Teen Choice Awards, but there were also, as expected, a good number of misses as well.  Let me kick my commentary off on a good note with the best of the brightest:

Ashley Benson , Blake Lively (in Gucci dress, Lorrain Schwartz jewelry, Christian Louboutin heels), Demi Lovato (in BCBGMAXAZRIA dress and Louboutin heels), Elizabeth Banks (J. Mendel dress), Fergie (in Dolce & Gabbana dress), Shay Mitchell.

These ladies killed it in bright dresses, keeping with the young, fun theme of the Teen Choice Awards.  On the opposite end of the spectrum were the ladies in waiting white.

Rachel Bilson (in Chloe), Taylor Swift (in Rafael Cennamo), Ashley Greene (in Givenchy), Kaley Cuoco (in Rebecca Taylor).

Here are some other looks I loved from last night’s red carpet:

Selena Gomez in an Erin Fetherston dress.

Emma Stone in Dior.

Cameron Diaz in A.L.C. dress and Burakuyan shoes.

But, while these ladies struck gold…we can’t forget about our dear friends who didn’t quite hit the mark.  To start off the Teen Choice Awards Uggs is Tyra Banks, with whom I have a serious love-hate relationship.  (Love her show, always usually hate her clothes).

Cat Woman gets completed un-sexified in this Thierry Mugler jumpsuit.  There are so many things wrong with this, I might just have to list them.

1. The awful bat wings on the top of the bustier

2. Honey, your latex is bunching at your knees

3. Too long in the legs

4. The shoes, really do I even have to mention these?

5. She painted her toenails YELLOW TO MATCH THE OUTFIT (excuse me while I go vomit)

6. Girl looks like she was caught in a torrential downpour on the way to the carpet her hair is so fug

Next up, and this pains me to say, but Zooey Deschanel in head-to-toe Miu Miu:

I have a weak heart for the glitter pumps but the dress makes her look like she’s got a big old mom ass.  Ugh, Zooey, please do better next time! I do love you so!

Last, but certainly not least ugliest, is Alexis Vega.

Ok, first let me just say, I don’t think this dress is ugly.  In fact, I would wear this dress.  It just strikes me as a little inapprops for a program aimed at teens and younger…Thankfully her cleavage is less vulgar than it could have been, but still.  The deep V is SO deep that we can practically see her vajay.  Maybe nip that puppy shut (not her vajay, the dress) right under the cleavage with some chain detailing and it would be one of my favorites of the night.

Photos via Getty Images.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

